IMG_0349[1]

This has been a most interesting week here in Oregon! I went to Portland last Monday and of course had the VooDoo Doughnuts. I had the maple bacon bar, which was interesting but pretty good! The Nike store there is fantastic! I got the new Lebron hoodie. I also got to eat at a Buffalo Wild Wings which was really really good! I  just loved being downtown in a city again! It was so awesome!

IMG_0314[1]

(VooDoo Doughnut Store)

Our investigator’s son got baptized this week! We weren’t able to teach him because he speaks English, and we had to pass him off to the Oregon City English Sisters, but we were able to go to the baptism! Our investigator M. really felt the Spirit strongly there and was crying during most of the meeting. She also said she wants to get baptized around the first weekend in December! The biggest news in our area is that it is getting split. Instead of covering Canby and Oregon City, we will now just be covering Canby because Oregon City is getting a new set of Spanish sisters today! So in total, we will have 6 missionaries in our small branch that had about 40 people there yesterday!

IMG_0340[1]

Yesterday, I worked the organ during sacrament meeting which involved finding the Spanish hymns stored on the memory and pressing the play button for each song’s intro and verse. The Sacrament hymn however, was not stored on there, so we just sang that without any music.

I love personal study time in the morning. The more I study the Bible, the more I realize how much it talks and testifies of the Book of Mormon! It is all right there in the Bible! It also testifies of the falling away from the teachings of the original church of Jesus Christ, and the need for the Restoration. If we all would take time to actually study the Bible we would easily see how the Book of Mormon is the Word of God as well. Also if we would take time to study the Book of Mormon, we would see how much it testifies of Christ, and the Bible as well.

A talk that I would encourage everyone to watch is called “Safety for the Soul” by Elder Jeffrey R. Holland. It is from the October 2009 General Conference and can be found at the following link:  http://www.lds.org/general-conference/2009/10/safety-for-the-soul?lang=eng It is an amazing talk, and one cannot even doubt the divinity of the Book of Mormon after reading it!

I also love http://www.mormonchannel.org/video/mormon-messages?v=911029448001  this  link for a really good Mormon Message. This comes some from that talk by Elder Holland. He is my favorite speaker by far.

Some other Spiritual things… http://www.lds.org/general-conference/2012/10/the-first-great-commandment?lang=eng&query=the+first+great+commandment#watch=video This is a link to a talk that I saw at the CCM that really sort of put that fire and mission desire in me. When we hear of angels speaking with the voice of thunder, this is the closest I can imagine. I love this talk because it really told me to just put the treasures I have, where moth and dust doth corrupt, away and to seek first the Kingdom of God.

Also, the Epistle Dedicatory to King James at the very beginning of the Bible says, “But among all our joys, there was no one that more filled our hearts, than the blessed continuance of the preaching of God’s sacred Word among us; which is that inestimable treasure, which excelleth all the riches of the earth; because the fruit thereof extendeth itself, not only to the time spent in this transitory world, but directeth and disposeth men unto that eternal happiness which is above in heaven.” If these men could receive so great a joy teaching the unrestored Gospel during a time of Apostasy, how great should our joy be in extending this fruit to all that we teach?

Also, a really good video to watch is “On the Lord’s Errand” which is about Thomas S. Monson  http://www.lds.org/media-library/video/2009-09-01-on-the-lords-errand-the-life-of-thomas-s-monson?category=feature-films   It is an hour long documentary on his life and how the Lord prepared him to be our prophet. It adds a strong witness to the fact that we have a living prophet on the Earth today!

IMG_0348[1]

I was “Missionary of the Day” at District Meeting this week, and everyone in the District says something nice about you. The first two are in the same area as Elder S. and they say that they see the same determination and desire to be a missionary that he has! The rest of them said how patient I am, how calm and positive I am, and how I am always the person who has a smile on his face.

I have to go now. I love you all! I hope you enjoyed the emails and pictures! I am doing my best out here. I can really see myself being changed by the Lord. I love the Scriptures now! So much! You all need to read them, and the book, Jesus the Christ. I finished it! I am eating well, and am really enjoying 30 minutes of work out time in the morning. Even if it is super early! I love you all!!

 

IMG_0326[1]

(Scenes from Portland)

IMG_0334[1]

(Scenes from Portland)

IMG_0325[1]

(Scenes from Portland)

