Dear family,

     This week can only be described as “My Birthday Week”. Everyone is so awesome because I set a district record for most letters received in one day! 23! And I set a 2 day record of 40 letters!! I also probably received like 7 packages.. I lost count. Thank you so much to everyone for the wonderful cards, pictures, thoughts, and packages. They really made my week and cluttered my apartment!  The cookies Aunt Kelly and her mom sent were yummy.  My companion and I munched on them for lunch between conference sessions!!  I loved all of the Tennessee stuff in my package from 6 purple!! Mrs. Cline, I am proud that you were able to send a package in your name that contained so much Orange! It was definitely a well needed slice of home. We are going to eat the BBQ you sent from Corky’s today for my birthday dinner!

     This week was also super awesome because our district got to go the Portland Oregon Temple this week. That building is extremely wonderful. President Monson said that there is no better beauty that combines God’s artwork of nature with Man’s architecture than that of the Portland temple. It is truly fantastic!
Image
Image
Image
(Westin and his companion at the Portland Oregon Temple)
     Did you all see on the World Report the section about the Mexico MTC? (http://www.mormonnewsroom.org/article/world-report)  It was awesome! General Conference this weekend was really fantastic! I actually took notes this time… I felt the Spirit so strong during all of the talks. Something I thought was really interesting was President Uchtdorf’s talk. He said that while other churches’ membership rates are declining, ours is increasing at a rapid rate. This is so true! And the reason it is true is because we have the SAME church that Christ established with the SAME power He used!
    We have the knowledge and authority to make families forever! Our church appeals to every person because it contains a perfect Doctrine. Living by its precepts will bring greater happiness to us than we will have ever known otherwise. I am so glad to be able to share this great message of happiness out here. It is a sacred responsibility, but it is the Lord’s work!!
    Well, I have no time left. Thank you so much for everything!! You all are awesome!! I love yall!! I will ball it up for Tennessee today since we get to play basketball for P-Day!! GO VOLS GO TITANS GO SPURS GO BLUE RAIDERS.
Love Elder Laing
Image
Image
(Westin and another Elder at the Portland Oregon Temple)
