Hey!  Sorry for emailing at a different time than usual, but we left at 8:00 am this morning to go to the temple!  It was really neat getting out in the city some (see the photo of the Krispy Kreme Doughnut truck), and especially going through a temple session in Español!  It went well today!  I loved my experience at the temple today!  I have never felt more of a direct communication with my Heavenly Father.  When I was praying in the celestial room, I could hear Heavenly Father answering my questions in my head.  It was a direct communication that made me tear up a little bit.  I can´t believe I am almost halfway done here!  Actually I can at the same time.  The Spanish is still going slowly, but surely coming along!  Going to the temple was a blast, even if it was ALL in Spanish.  It has multiple stories which is different from Atlanta!  Life is good!  But no matter where you are or what language you speak, la iglesia es verdadera (the Church is true)!

Image

My week has been pretty good!  I think we end up with a small earthquake every other day or  something like that.  It also rains about every day around 5:30pm!  I love playing basketball here. No matter where I am playing basketball, I always feel at home.  I have felt the Holy Ghost strengthen me in numerous ways!  I am enjoying learning the Gospel as well as Spanish.  I am ready to get back to the US though.  Time is sort of going by fast!  Weeks seem like days, and days seem like weeks.  I miss real food.  Personal study is going well!  I am on page 160 of the book, Jesus the Christ. That book is crazy good!

Image

Westin’s district at the Mexico City Temple

Image

Westin’s district on the MTC bus on the way to the temple.

Image

Westin and his companion at the Mexico City temple

My companion and I blessed the sacrament in sacrament meeting Sunday for our branch, while the Presidente of the CCM (Missionary Training Center) was there!  It was pretty nerve-wracking.  The food is really good, especially when we get fried chicken.  The language is alright.. until we hear a native speaker speak…. Sleeping is great!  I don´t have any problems there!  I miss the South, but I am so glad to be coming back to the US in a few weeks!  Mail is so slowwww here.  I taught a blessing on how blessings are predicated on obedience, and yes, Mom, I used your suggestion.   I gave out cookies for finding examples of obedience in the Scriptures as a “blessing.”

Image

Westin in front of the Mexico City temple

I have to go now!  I’ll talk to you all next week!  I love you guys!  Keep up the good work!

Love,

Elder Laing

